When the Lok Sabha is dissolved, the Speaker continues in office till a new :

A) Lok Sabha is formed

B) Speaker is appointed by the President

C) Speaker is elected when the new House meets

D) Government is formed

Correct Answer:
C) Speaker is elected when the new House meets

Part of solved The Union Legislature questions and answers : General Knowledge >> Indian Polity >> The Union Legislature


No comments available

Similar Questions
1). Who is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha ?
A). President
B). Vice-President
C). Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
D). Leader of Opposition
-- View Answer
2). Parliament's expenditure is controlled by :
A). President
B). Finance Commission
C). National Development Council
D). Comptroller and auditor General
-- View Answer
3). Which of the following states has the largest percentage of reserved parliamentary seats ?
A). Orissa
B). Bihar
C). Uttar Pradesh
D). Madhya Pradesh
-- View Answer
4). Members of the Rajya Sabha are elected according to :
A). Cumulative Vote System
B). single Non-transferable Vote System
C). Single Transferable Vote System
D). None of these
-- View Answer
5). The Rajya Sabha can have a maximum strength of :
A). 200
B). 210
C). 250
D). 260
-- View Answer

6). A present the Rajya Sabha consists of ________. Members
A). 250
B). 245
C). 238
D). 240
-- View Answer
7). Who was the first speaker of the Lok Sabha ?
A). G. V. Mavalankar
B). P. Upendra
C). Anantha Sayanam Ayyanagar
D). Hukam Singh
-- View Answer
8). who among the following was never the Lok Sabha Speaker ?
A). K.V.K Sundaram
B). G.S. Dhillon
C). Baliram Bhagat
D). Hukum Singh
-- View Answer
9). Who, according to the Anti-Defection Act, is the final authority to decide whether a member of Lok Sabha has incurred disqualification due to direction?
A). Speaker
B). President
C). Election Commission
D). High Court
-- View Answer
10). Who is the authorised to decide over a dispute regarding disqualification of a member of Parliament?
A). Election Commissioner
B). Speaker of Lok Sabha
C). President
D). A Committee set up by the Parliament
-- View Answer