Resistance to British rule-Non Tribal Movements

Sanyasi Revolt (1770): In Bengal the restrictions imposed on visit to holy places estranged the Sanyasis. Only after a prolonged military action Warren Hastings could contain sanyasi raids.

Revolt of Kattabomman: In Tamil Nadu Veer Pandya Kattabomman was the leader of the movement.

Rebellion of the Paiks (1804-1806): in Orissa, the Raja Khurda and later Jagabandhu led the revolt of the Paiks, a militia class.

Revolt of Velu Thampi (1808): The Diwan of Travancore rose in revolt due to the financial burden imposed on the state by the British .

Bundela revolt (1842): Due to land revenue policy of the Britisth, Bundelas rose in revolt under Madhukar Shah and Jawahar singh. 

Faraizi movement: Haji Shariatullah started the movement and after his death Dadu Miyan led the movement.

Wahapi movement: Started by Saiyad Ahmad of Rai Bareilli. He was killed in the battle of Balakot. After his death Patna became the centre of the movement.

Pagal Panthi movement: Started in 1825 in east Bengal under Karam Shah it was mainly religious movement but under his son Tipu it became a political movement. 

Surat Salt Agitation (1844): The raising of the salt duty from 50 paisa to one rupee caused great discontent.  Government had to withdraw. 

Kuka Movement (1845): It was started in Punjab by Jawaharmal to purify sikh religion. Ram Singh was another leader of the movement.

Satya Sodhak Samaj (Maharashtra in 1873): In 1873. Satya Sodhak movement was launched by Jyodba Phule in Maharashtra to save the lower castes from the Brahmins. He wrote ‘Gulamgiri’ and ‘Sarvajanik Satyadharma Pustak’.  His theory of exploitation of lower castes was focused on cultural and ethnic factor rather than on political and economic one.

Phadke’s rebellion: Wasudeo Balwant Phadke organised an armed rebellion in 1877 in Western lndia. He was the earliest nationalist to organise political dacoities. He was captured in 1879 and in 1883 with his death the rebellion also died.

Nadar Movement: (Tamil Nadu late 19th and early 20th century): Originally low caste toddy trappers, the Nadars demanded Kshatriya status and temple entry rights. Founded Nadar Mahajan Sangam in 1910.

Pallar Movement (Tamil Nadu late 19th century): The Pallars claimed Kshatriya status and called themselves Vanniya Kula Kshatriya. They imitated Brahmanical customs like taboo on widow remarriage.

Justice Party Movement (Madras 1915-16): They challenged the Brahmin domination in education, services, politics and their absentee landlordism. The movement showed its loyalty to the British in the hope of more jobs. It was started by C.N. Mudaliar, TM. Nair and P. Tyagaraja Chetti in Madras.

Vaikom Satyagraha (Kerala in 1924-25): Led by T.K. Madhavan, K.Kellapam and Keshava Menon. It was the first organised temple entry movement of the depressed classes. They asserted along Gandhian lines the right of Ezhavas and other untouchables to use the road near Travancore temple.

Self Respect Movement (Madras 1925): Self-respect movement was started in 1925 by    EV. Ramaswamy Naicker (Periyar). It was against the dominance of Brahmins. Periyar waged movement for forcible temple entry, burning of Manusmriti and wedding without Brahmin priest. He started his journal Kudi Arasu in Tamil in 1929 to propagate his ideas.

Mahar Satyagraha (Maharashtra 1927): Ambedkar demanded the right of the Mahars to use tanks, enter temples and abolition of Mahar watan-traditional service to village chiefs.

Ezhava Movement (Kerala early 20th century): Inspired by Narayana Guru, the Ezhavas, untouchable toddy trappers of Kerala demanded temple entry and attacked Brahmin domination. They founded Sri Narayana Guru Dharma Paripalana Yogam (SNDP) in 1902. Sri Narayan Guru rejected the caste system and developed the concept of one caste, one religion and one god for mankind. His disciple Ayappan made it into no religion, no caste and no god for mankind. 

Nair Movement (Travancore late 19th century): in Kerala, the Nairs started movement against the dominance of Nambudari Brahmins. CV. Raman Pillai organised the Malayali Memorial. He wrote a novel ‘Martanda Verma‘ to show the military glory of the Nairs. Padmanabha Pillai founded the Nair service society in 1914. 

Related Questions

1. Sher Shah is well known for his administrative skill, especially his : -- View Answer

2. The Sarak-i-Azam which ran from the Indus to Sonargaon (in Bangladesh) was built by : -- View Answer

3. Who among the following Indian rulers was a contemporary of Akbar? -- View Answer

4. Consider the following statements :
1. Humayun regained his Delhi throne from Sher Shah in 1555
2. Humayun defeated Hemu at the second battle of Panipat in 1556
Which of these statements is/are correct? -- View Answer

5. During the Mughal period which one of the following traders first came to India? -- View Answer

6. Akbar wanted to establish friendship with the Rajputs because : -- View Answer

7. Match the following :
Structures Places
A. Akbar's Mausoleum 1. Lahore
B. Gola Mendola 2. Chittorgarh
C. Jahangir's Mausoleum 3. Sikandara
D. Vijayastambha 4. Udaipur
Below options are given in A B C D order. -- View Answer

8. Sher Shah died while fighting in : -- View Answer

9. Match the following :
A. Second Battle of Panipat 1. Decline of Vijayanagar
B. Second Battle of Tarain 2. British rule in India
C. Battle of Talikota 3. Turkish rule in India
D. Battle of Plassey 4. Mughal rule in India
5. Slave dynasty in India
Below options are given in A B C D order. -- View Answer

10. Hindustan is a country of few charms. Its people have no good looks..'
Which Mughal king had recorded this in his memoirs? -- View Answer

Related Quizes

More Questions and Answers

1. Indus Valley Civilization
2. Vedic Age-The Aryans
3. Religious movements-Buddhism and Jainism
4. Bhakti movement
5. Mughal Empire
6. Advent of Europeans
7. Expansion of British Supremacy
8. Indian National Movement

Related Articles

1. Advent of Europeans
2. Anglo Maratha wars
3. Anglo Sikh wars
4. British conquest of Bengal
5. British rule in India
6. Carnatic wars
7. Conquest of Mysore
8. East India Company
9. Foreign travellers
10. Governor generals of British India
11. Later Mughal Emperors
12. Post Mughal-Autonomous states
13. Resistance to British rule-Peasant Movements
14. Resistance to British rule-Tribal Movements
15. Revolt 1857