Post Mughal-Autonomous states

Coming of Europeans

     The weakening of central political structure of the Mughal empire and erosion of its military strength created some sort of a political vacuum in India tempting ambitious subahdars and powerful regional chiefs to carve out semi-independent or independent principalities for themselves. Thus the eighteenth century saw the rise of a large number of autonomous states on the debris of the Mughal empire such as Bengal, Awadh, Hyderabad, Mysore, Marathas, Jats, Sikhs, Rajputs etc.


     Murshid Quli Khan (1717 - 1727 A D): He was appointed as Bengal’s Diwan by Aurangzeb (1700), as Naib Subedar (1713) and later Subedar (1717) by Farrukh Siyar, though he continued to pay tribute to Mughal Emperor. Orissa was attached to Bengal in 1719 by Farrukh Siyar.  Quli Khan transferred his capital from Dhaka to Murshidabad. He established a sound administrative system; gave taccavi loans to the peasants. He gave equal opportunities of employment to Muslims and Hindus.

     Shuja-ud-din (1727 - 1739 A.D.): He was son-in-law of Murshid Quli Khan. Bihar was attached to Bengal in 1733 by emperor Muhammad Shah. Now onwards the Nawabs of Bengal ruled over Bengal, Bihar and Orissa.

     Sarfraj Khan (1739 - 1740 A.D.): Son of Shuja, he was murdered by Aliverdi Khan, the Deputy Governor of Bihar.

      Aliverdi Khan (1740 - 1756 A.D.): He prevented the English people from misusing their privileges and prohibited English and French companies from fortifying their factories at Calcutta and Chandranagar respectively. During his reign there was a continuous incursion of Marathas and he had to pay ‘chauth’ to Raghuji Bhonsle.

      Siraj-ud-Daulah (1756 - 1757 A.D.): Siraj-ud-daulah wrote a letter to the British Governor of Calcutta to demolish additional fortifications and also to stop giving support to Shaukat Jang. The British refused to comply with his orders and Siraj seized the factory at Kasim Bazaar and Calcutta.  On this occasion the ‘Black Hole Episode‘ happened on 20th June, 1756. The description of Black Hole Episode was given by Holwell. Arrival of a strong contingent from Madras under Colonel Clive and Admiral Watson and their plunder of Hoogli and recovery of Calcutta led to a treaty between Siraj and the British.  According to Treaty of Alinagar, Siraj recognised their previleges. Soon after the British organised a conspiracy with some leading men of the Nawab’s court (Mir Jafer - the mir bakshi; Manikchand - officer-in-Icharge of Calcutta, Jagat Seth - the famous banker of Bengal; Rai Durlabh and Khadim Khan - important nobles, etc).  

Related Questions

1. Akbar defeated Rana Pratap in the Battle of Haldighati in the year : -- View Answer

2. Tansen, the greatest musician of Akbar's court belonged to : -- View Answer

3. Ain-i-Akbari gives information about -- View Answer

4. Tulsidas was a contemporary of : -- View Answer

5. On the wall of which of the following buildings built by Shah Jahan, the Persian couplet "If there is a paradise on earth, it is this, it is this, it is this" is inscribed? -- View Answer

6. Which of the following is similar to the Taj Mahal in construction? -- View Answer

7. The most famous musician at the court of Akbar was Tansen. His original name was : -- View Answer

8. The mausoleum of sher shah is at : -- View Answer

9. Buland Darwaza, built by Akbar, is to commemorate the victory of : -- View Answer

10. Buland Darwaza is situated in : -- View Answer

Related Quizes

More Questions and Answers

1. Indus Valley Civilization
2. Vedic Age-The Aryans
3. Religious movements-Buddhism and Jainism
4. Bhakti movement
5. Mughal Empire
6. Advent of Europeans
7. Expansion of British Supremacy
8. Indian National Movement

Related Articles

1. Advent of Europeans
2. Anglo Maratha wars
3. Anglo Sikh wars
4. British conquest of Bengal
5. British rule in India
6. Carnatic wars
7. Conquest of Mysore
8. Foreign travellers
9. Governor generals of British India
10. Later Mughal Emperors
11. Resistance to British rule-Non Tribal Movements
12. Resistance to British rule-Peasant Movements
13. Resistance to British rule-Tribal Movements
14. Revolt 1857